Trip of “Water without Borders” and “Forikolo e.V.”

On 18.09.2018, three young members of “Wasser ohne Grenzen e.V.”, all civil engineering students at HTWK Leipzig, as well as a member of Forikolo e.V., made their way to Sierra Leone. Within a month, concrete workshops were held, existing structures examined for durability and maintenance, and the foundations laid for the construction of the new Mathen school and care center.

Concrete workshop with the construction team in Sierra Leone. Under the blue tarpaulin the concrete blocks are protected and the cement can better develop its chemical reactions.
In the process, the available land was measured and the best possible location determined in terms of statics, flushing risk and preservation of existing vegetation. The site has already been cleared of remaining vegetation and is now ready for the start of construction.

Location of the new elementary school and secondary school in Mathen. In the center right you can see the old building, which will be used for community purposes in the future.
The members of “Water Without Borders e.V.”, Tim Junghanns, Lorenz Spillecke and Fabian Ziehr returned to Germany on October 18, 2018 and are already preparing for a second visit to Sierra Leone to accompany the construction process in February 2019. Forikolo e.V. member Jonas Spekker will remain in Sierra Leone until March 2019 to build an improved communication infrastructure and support the local staff in a variety of tasks in addition to supporting the construction in Mathen. – jsp

Reise von Wasser ohne Grenzen und Forikolo

Am 18.09.2018 haben sich drei junge Mitglieder des „Wasser ohne Grenzen e.V.“, allesamt Bauingenieurswesen-Studenten an der HTWK Leipzig, sowie ein Mitglied des Forikolo e.V. auf den Weg nach Sierra Leone gemacht. Innerhalb eines Monats wurden Beton-Workshops durchgeführt, bestehende Strukturen auf Haltbarkeit und Wartungsbedarf untersucht und die Grundlagen für den Bau des neuen Schul- und Berufszentrums in Mathen geschaffen.

Betonworkshop mit dem Bauteam in Sierra Leone. Unter der blauen Plane sind die Betonsteine geschützt und der Zement kann besser seine chemischen Reaktionen entfalten.
Dabei wurde das zur Verfügung stehende Land vermessen und der bestmögliche Standort in Hinsicht auf Statik, Unterspülungsrisiko und Erhalt der bestehenden Vegetation festgestellt. Der Standort wurde bereits von restlicher Vegetation befreit und ist nun bereit für den Baustart.

Standort der neuen Grundschule und weiterführenden Schule in Mathen. Mitte rechts das alte Gebäude, das zukünftig Gemeindezwecken zur Verfügung stehen soll.
Die Mitglieder des „Wasser ohne Grenzen e.V.“ Tim Junghanns, Lorenz Spillecke und Fabian Ziehr sind am 18.10.2018 nach Deutschland zurückgekehrt und bereiten sich bereits auf einen zweiten baubegleitenden Besuch im Februar 2019 in Sierra Leone vor. Forikolo e.V. – Mitglied Jonas Spekker bleibt bis März 2019 in Sierra Leone, um neben der Begleitung des Baus in Mathen eine verbesserte Kommunikationsinfrastruktur aufzubauen und die lokalen Mitarbeiter bei verschiedenen Aufgaben zu unterstützen. – jsp